Topic: Building computer for first time

Hey folks,

I'm thinking about jumping into the do-it-yourself computer-building club. I've never done it before, so I'm wondering if anyone knows of a solid guide on the subject. I could probably figure a fair amount of it out, but certain things like the gluing of this to that when it's expensive electronics freaks me out a bit. How much glue, what kind of glue? Etc.

I'm going to stick to "basics" and go with an XP32 system since that is what my current hardware and software support, and I want to keep things "simple" and maybe upgrade in a couple years for a 2-machine setup with a 64-bit system when the edges get sorted out a bit in the 64-bit world.

Any advice appreciated.

Re: Building computer for first time

When "PC Magazine" and Computer Shopper" came as printed magazines they periodically had instructions on "How To Build Your Own" - I'll bet a search of their web sites would result in a listing of those articles. Google too.

The only pre-built system I bought was a Tandy 1000TL2 back in 1986 - since then it's been buy all the parts and build my own. I have no idea as to the glue you asking about. Further explanation is required.

http://d1syubgj0w3cyv.cloudfront.net/cdn/farfuture/ajoHKH618C_cS2O6V00_aY3Cse0ggjzP4uxI8Hk5viw/perpetual:forever/userbar/donator-3.png

LOL my daughter bult her first pc out of my scrap parts when she was nine wink.

it is nothing to be intimidated by...
It is pretty straight forward stuff
Most MB manuals have good instructions wink
(check out some MB manuals online, perhaps one you are thinking of buying)

I recomend NewEgg.com for parts - good place to do business.

I like GigaByte MotherBoards best, followed closely by Asus and DFI. They are all three well made and well supported.

Never use the power supply that comes with a cheap (<$75) cabinet. Get a good PS like an Antec TruePower or equivilent 100% duty rating.