Topic: May I use DriverPacks before nLite

Hi, I'm a newbie. Please help me with the order of DriverPacks and nLite.

In this instruction you warned that we should do in this order: 1) nLite, 2) Updatepack, 3) DriverPacks.

My question is whether I can use DriverPacks before nLite, because DriverPacks doesn't have a Make ISO function. Is the following steps feasible?
1) copy Windows XP SP3 (MSDN edition) to the hard disk
2) Use DriverPacks to slipstream
3) Use nLite to make an unattended installation image file

Thanks.

Last edited by pclover (2009-02-20 19:37:18)

Re: May I use DriverPacks before nLite

NO... ABSOLUTELY NOT you will destroy your source~!

however you can leave nLite open at the make ISO screen while you run DriverPacks and use nlite after DriverPacks to make your ISO.

if you make ANY changes after DriverPacks AT ALL you will have junk

DP BartPE Tutorial   DP_BASE Tutorial   HWID's Tool     Read BEFORE you post    UserBars!
http://driverpacks.net/userbar/admin-1.png
The DriverPacks, the DP_Base program, and Support Forum are FREE!.

Hi pclover,

the link you got that wisdom from was written in 2006. (the tell-tale is the version numbers of the packs it is about.)

In my signature, I again link to our somewhat outdated (albeit outdated.. it still has tons of useful insights..) collaboration base tute

I've been scarce, I know that. I should try put time in this tut and should start a new colllaboration effort so as update it, but there're several reasons for my being scarce, so it may not be soon.

(I wish the economic crisis did not bite. It bit.)

Last edited by Jaak (2009-02-19 12:01:34)

The answer was 42?
Kind regards, Jaak.

OverFlow wrote:

NO... ABSOLUTELY NOT you will destroy your source~!

however you can leave nLite open at the make ISO screen while you run DriverPacks and use nlite after DriverPacks to make your ISO.

if you make ANY changes after DriverPacks AT ALL you will have junk